official BUGS thread Sticky

Jan 24, 2015, 4:24 pm
#1
capristo's avatar
The Imperialist


Joined: Dec 2, 2007
Location: New Attnam
Interests: bananas
Posts: 1,962
New software, new thread!

Please report any bugs in this thread. I will be tracking them here:
https://github.com/andrewtweber/parangi/issues

- shoutbox does not work... unfortunately only works without SSL
- links to single posts take you to the first page of the topic
- page needs to be refreshed to see unread posts
- registration does not save user fields
- sorting members list is broken
- "new private message" emails have no content
- topic & post counters aren't accurately updated when a post is deleted
- editing an album clears the "cover photo"
- mobile navigation menu isn't great
- quoting messages doesn't create quote bbcode
- stuff in code tags doesn't show up in topic review

Additionally there are some features that I haven't completed that I didn't view as essential. I'd rather have everybody on the new software and finish these things over time

- searching private messages
- searching forum - partially complete but some of the advanced features don't work
- previewing posts
- previewing private messages
- deleting a photo album

And finally, the theme. I know it's not great. I'm using Twitter Bootstrap on the front end and this was one of the themes available. My first priority is getting the theme cleaned up with the gold that we all love, and adding the icon back into the top left.
Jan 24, 2015, 4:32 pm
#2
capristo's avatar
The Imperialist


Joined: Dec 2, 2007
Location: New Attnam
Interests: bananas
Posts: 1,962
I just noticed the shoutbox is not playing nicely with SSL. That's a pity. I can't remove the SSL certificate because browsers will probably get stuck in a redirect loop since I was forcing SSL earlier. Working on this.
Jan 24, 2015, 6:33 pm
#3
Joined: Dec 11, 2008
Posts: 1,768
Has the wiki simply vanished temporarily until things are working?
Jan 24, 2015, 7:28 pm
#4
capristo's avatar
The Imperialist


Joined: Dec 2, 2007
Location: New Attnam
Interests: bananas
Posts: 1,962
No that was unintentional because the new site is in a different directory. It's back up. Powered by completely different software so no need to take it down
Jan 24, 2015, 8:23 pm
#5
Joined: Feb 20, 2012
Posts: 232
Quick note that Jenny is no longer properly aligned in the top right corner.

Also the blink dog icon's background doesn't seem to be transparent, as you can see above.
Jan 25, 2015, 2:34 am
#6
Joined: Feb 20, 2012
Posts: 232
The automatic page resizing can get pretty messy:
Jan 25, 2015, 10:08 pm
#7
Joined: Dec 3, 2007
Occupation: Chaos Weaver
Location: Standing between all life and death
Posts: 2,764
"DuckDuck"?
Jan 25, 2015, 10:41 pm
#8
Joined: Feb 20, 2012
Posts: 232
chaostrom wrote
"DuckDuck"?

DuckDuckGo
Jan 26, 2015, 4:39 am
#9
capristo's avatar
The Imperialist


Joined: Dec 2, 2007
Location: New Attnam
Interests: bananas
Posts: 1,962
Does everyone like the full screen width? Or is it just too large on wider screens? Even on my laptop (~1300 px) it seems a little too wide
Jan 26, 2015, 1:23 pm
#10
Joined: Dec 11, 2008
Posts: 1,768
We must go wider!

Yeah seems fine to me, it's not like there needs to be space for links or whatever around the sides.
Jan 26, 2015, 10:12 pm
#11
Joined: Feb 20, 2012
Posts: 232
I'm all for maximizing economy of screen space, so I think auto-resizing to fill the whole window is great.

I did notice, however, that I can't zoom in while on my phone, and there's a lot of dead space to the right on narrower screens/windows (both mobile and desktop).
Jan 26, 2015, 11:10 pm
#12
capristo's avatar
The Imperialist


Joined: Dec 2, 2007
Location: New Attnam
Interests: bananas
Posts: 1,962
Can you post a screenshot of the dead space? I'm not seeing it. Is it just on certain pages or all pages?

The disabled zoom is intentional... unfortunately for some devices like the iphone if you don't do that, when the user picks a text box or select box, it zooms the screen in which is annoying. If I can get rid of the dead space it shouldn't be a problem
Jan 26, 2015, 11:20 pm
#13
capristo's avatar
The Imperialist


Joined: Dec 2, 2007
Location: New Attnam
Interests: bananas
Posts: 1,962
Seems like new posts do not get detected until you refresh the page?
Jan 26, 2015, 11:33 pm
#14
Joined: Feb 20, 2012
Posts: 232
Here are a couple screenshots. Note that the narrower the window gets, the more space there is. On mobile there was quite a bit of blank space.

It only seems to happen on the forum threads, the rest of the pages act fine even if I make the window ridiculously narrow.
Jan 26, 2015, 11:39 pm
#15
capristo's avatar
The Imperialist


Joined: Dec 2, 2007
Location: New Attnam
Interests: bananas
Posts: 1,962
Ok cool I think it was just the large attachments. I set them to be a max width 100% and I think it's fixed.
Jan 26, 2015, 11:42 pm
#16
Joined: Feb 20, 2012
Posts: 232
Yeah, looks good; no more horizontal scroll bar.

One more minor issue I noticed with some of the narrower images in the Random Photo box:

Feb 3, 2015, 3:20 pm
#17
Ernomouse's avatar
Master mine stomper


Joined: Dec 16, 2007
Occupation: Wasting air
Location: Arse-end of Europe
Interests: Small living
Posts: 2,040
Is there a way to remove the MSN contact info in my profile?
Feb 4, 2015, 12:51 am
#18
capristo's avatar
The Imperialist


Joined: Dec 2, 2007
Location: New Attnam
Interests: bananas
Posts: 1,962
That is a missing feature. I removed it for you but I'll try to add that back in soon so that everyone else can manage theirs too
Feb 4, 2015, 2:33 am
#19
Joined: Sep 22, 2008
Posts: 613
capristo wrote
Seems like new posts do not get detected until you refresh the page?
I keep seeing this as well. The new post indicator only lights up after you load the page a second time.
Feb 8, 2015, 8:00 am
#20
Joined: Dec 3, 2007
Occupation: Chaos Weaver
Location: Standing between all life and death
Posts: 2,764
So, I just tried to check out the latest post by Kamos. Clicked the "new post" button.

Took me to the start of the thread.
Feb 11, 2015, 12:14 pm
#21
capristo's avatar
The Imperialist


Joined: Dec 2, 2007
Location: New Attnam
Interests: bananas
Posts: 1,962
Thanks chaostrom, that bug should be fixed
Feb 11, 2015, 12:33 pm
#22
capristo's avatar
The Imperialist


Joined: Dec 2, 2007
Location: New Attnam
Interests: bananas
Posts: 1,962
JoKe wrote
I keep seeing this as well. The new post indicator only lights up after you load the page a second time.

I think this is fixed as well... will have to test to see
Feb 13, 2015, 3:59 pm
#23
capristo's avatar
The Imperialist


Joined: Dec 2, 2007
Location: New Attnam
Interests: bananas
Posts: 1,962
Fixed the bug where registration does not save profile fields.
Mar 11, 2015, 5:47 am
#24
Joined: Sep 8, 2010
Occupation: Petty Functionary
Location: Drinking pea soup in the world map
Interests: Mangoes
Posts: 935
Hi Cap, I can't sort the columns in the members list page.
Mar 29, 2015, 7:20 pm
#25
capristo's avatar
The Imperialist


Joined: Dec 2, 2007
Location: New Attnam
Interests: bananas
Posts: 1,962
Whoops, I messed something up with the quick edit divs. I'll fix that soon
Jump to