Planning for Release

Oct 27, 2017, 7:46 am
red_kangaroo's avatar
orc general


Joined: Apr 2, 2014
Location: North Tyris
Posts: 482
fejoa wrote
That's great, what platform are you running? I tested on Win7 and it works.

I tried it on Linux through Wine, actually. It runs just as well as compiled on Linux directly.

fejoa wrote
Can you please update the RogueBasin announcements for us red? I lost my password

Of course.

EDIT: Announced on r/roguelikes, Temple of the Roguelike and RogueBasin.
Oct 27, 2017, 5:39 pm
red_kangaroo's avatar
orc general


Joined: Apr 2, 2014
Location: North Tyris
Posts: 482
OK, first bug report from reddit:

Quote
Although its not too big a deal since it loads so quickly but every time I die and it asks to show me my inventory and kill list it crashes. Did I extract it improperly or is this a common thing?
Oct 27, 2017, 6:26 pm
Joined: Sep 8, 2010
Occupation: Petty Functionary
Location: Drinking pea soup in the world map
Interests: Mangoes
Posts: 1,022
red_kangaroo wrote
OK, first bug report from reddit:

Every time?
Oct 27, 2017, 6:54 pm
red_kangaroo's avatar
orc general


Joined: Apr 2, 2014
Location: North Tyris
Posts: 482
Here's the thread.

Here's one more bug report, so something is probably up:

Quote
I got constant c++ runtime eror every time u save the game ? tho game saves and loads dat save corectly
Oct 27, 2017, 7:41 pm
Joined: Sep 8, 2010
Occupation: Petty Functionary
Location: Drinking pea soup in the world map
Interests: Mangoes
Posts: 1,022
red_kangaroo wrote
Here's the thread.

Here's one more bug report, so something is probably up:

Thanks red. What a bother, I hope it's nothing to do with the libraries or C++ linkages. Can you replicate any of those problems?
Oct 27, 2017, 9:03 pm
Joined: Sep 5, 2010
Posts: 103
older libpng still crashes on your pngs, due to iTXT chunk with xml crap. while this is definitely libpng problem, removing iTXT chunk is a good thing by itself: in some files that chunk alone is bigger than the rest of the data!

p.s.: this report is for binary built from source on my GNU/Linux, of course, not for official binary.
Oct 27, 2017, 11:51 pm
Joined: Sep 8, 2010
Occupation: Petty Functionary
Location: Drinking pea soup in the world map
Interests: Mangoes
Posts: 1,022
vasiliy wrote
older libpng still crashes on your pngs, due to iTXT chunk with xml crap. while this is definitely libpng problem, removing iTXT chunk is a good thing by itself: in some files that chunk alone is bigger than the rest of the data!

p.s.: this report is for binary built from source on my GNU/Linux, of course, not for official binary.

Crap, is that because I shipped it with png lib 1.2? I can build with libpng 1.6 instead. Probably be another few hours until I have some time to do it.
Oct 28, 2017, 4:49 am
Joined: Sep 8, 2010
Occupation: Petty Functionary
Location: Drinking pea soup in the world map
Interests: Mangoes
Posts: 1,022
I've updated the zip file. I had to abandon my handcrafted compiler toolchain because it was broken. Luckily I went through the motions last week of messing around with MSYS2, which I wrote instructions for during some free time at work.

Can anyone tell me if the new file works?
Oct 28, 2017, 5:50 am
Joined: Dec 17, 2007
Occupation: Taking Names, Formerly Kicking Ass
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 827
I just downloaded the updated version and I am able to save/die without the game crashing. seems to be working.

question, when i play in windows the screen is really small, is there some way to make the window larger?
Oct 28, 2017, 5:57 am
red_kangaroo's avatar
orc general


Joined: Apr 2, 2014
Location: North Tyris
Posts: 482
Batman? wrote
question, when i play in windows the screen is really small, is there some way to make the window larger?

Are you using fullscreen? it is very, very small without being fullscreen. But there is the new scaling option, so try to switch to eg. 2x graphics and even windowed might be better.
Oct 28, 2017, 6:28 am
red_kangaroo's avatar
orc general


Joined: Apr 2, 2014
Location: North Tyris
Posts: 482
fejoa wrote
Can anyone tell me if the new file works?

Works for me on both Windows 7 and Linux through Wine.
Oct 28, 2017, 10:19 am
capristo's avatar
The Imperialist


Joined: Dec 2, 2007
Location: New Attnam
Interests: bananas
Posts: 2,042
Congrats guys and thank you for your hard work
Oct 28, 2017, 1:05 pm
Joined: Sep 8, 2010
Occupation: Petty Functionary
Location: Drinking pea soup in the world map
Interests: Mangoes
Posts: 1,022
No worries Cap, and keep those bug reports flowing folks.
Dec 20, 2017, 5:11 am
Joined: Sep 8, 2010
Occupation: Petty Functionary
Location: Drinking pea soup in the world map
Interests: Mangoes
Posts: 1,022
Hi folks, just been working on getting a windows cross compile working on Travis CI. So far so good just needs a couple more features and a refactor and it should be ready.
Can anyone help me by testing the binary in the attached 7zip? Just start a new game and save/load. I need to know if it works on Windows XP, 8 and 10.

Once my branch gets merged, then the release process will be as simple as changing the version numbers and pushing with a git tag.
Dec 21, 2017, 7:22 am
Joined: Dec 14, 2017
Occupation: Local IVAN dealer
Interests: webcomics, videogames, languages
Posts: 90
Hey, I may help with testing on XP tomorrow, but why won't you just use a Virtual Machine?
Dec 22, 2017, 6:41 pm
Joined: Sep 8, 2010
Occupation: Petty Functionary
Location: Drinking pea soup in the world map
Interests: Mangoes
Posts: 1,022
badbeaver wrote
Hey, I may help with testing on XP tomorrow, but why won't you just use a Virtual Machine?

You can test out the real thing, here's IVAN 0.51: https://github.com/Attnam/ivan/releases/tag/v051
Dec 22, 2017, 7:39 pm
red_kangaroo's avatar
orc general


Joined: Apr 2, 2014
Location: North Tyris
Posts: 482
Announced on r/roguelikes, Temple of the Roguelike and RogueBasin.

It's already after midnight here and now I have the itch to go and play a bit. And I blame you, fejoa, because new releases always do that to me.
Jan 17, 11:55 pm
Joined: Dec 14, 2017
Occupation: Local IVAN dealer
Interests: webcomics, videogames, languages
Posts: 90
Hey, sorry that I didn't test it for a long time, I don't actually have a PC with XP on it, I planned to test in on one of my school computers, but I got sick and then the holidays began.

IVAN 0.51 works perfectly fine on Windows XP and I didn't encounter any problems.
Jan 18, 12:02 am
Joined: Sep 8, 2010
Occupation: Petty Functionary
Location: Drinking pea soup in the world map
Interests: Mangoes
Posts: 1,022
Excellent! Thanks for the check badbeaver
Mar 23, 8:51 pm
Joined: Sep 8, 2010
Occupation: Petty Functionary
Location: Drinking pea soup in the world map
Interests: Mangoes
Posts: 1,022
Hi Fans and Visitors! Here's IVAN 0.52, for Windows

Now that Travis does the builds, releasing is a breeze. Enjoy!
Mar 24, 2:22 am
red_kangaroo's avatar
orc general


Joined: Apr 2, 2014
Location: North Tyris
Posts: 482
Sweet!

Announced on r/roguelikes, Temple of the Roguelike and RogueBasin.

Also we forgot to update the NEWS file with changes to 0.52. :/
Mar 24, 5:47 am
Joined: Sep 8, 2010
Occupation: Petty Functionary
Location: Drinking pea soup in the world map
Interests: Mangoes
Posts: 1,022
red_kangaroo wrote
Sweet!

Announced on r/roguelikes, Temple of the Roguelike and RogueBasin.

Also we forgot to update the NEWS file with changes to 0.52. :/

Thanks r_k. You're right, the NEWS file gets packaged with the zip, so it needs to be updated before the tag is pushed to trigger the build. Maybe we should do a quick patch, especially now that there's a new fix for Sirens.
Mar 24, 6:20 am
red_kangaroo's avatar
orc general


Joined: Apr 2, 2014
Location: North Tyris
Posts: 482
fejoa wrote
Maybe we should do a quick patch, especially now that there's a new fix for Sirens.

That would be cool. I pushed an updated changelog, along with the changelog for this hotfix, so we can have such a nice number as 0.52.1.
Mar 24, 4:14 pm
capristo's avatar
The Imperialist


Joined: Dec 2, 2007
Location: New Attnam
Interests: bananas
Posts: 2,042
Well shoot... in the past Microsoft forced me to click "More info" and then "Run anyway" to launch the EXE

Now unfortunately even when I take those steps to bypass it's giving me this and preventing me from running it entirely!

AND it deletes the EXE file permanently without asking me.
Mar 24, 4:57 pm
red_kangaroo's avatar
orc general


Joined: Apr 2, 2014
Location: North Tyris
Posts: 482
Now that's just plain weird. I have tried it and Windows throws no problems for me...
Jump to