Where to next with worldmap and new dungeon locations

Aug 29, 2016, 2:19 am
#51
Joined: Sep 22, 2008
Posts: 634
4zb4 wrote
The passive lighting is apparently set inside the source code rather than by script.

It did seem hardcoded in this case, thanks for the confirmation 4zb4. I can likely get around it for now with luminescent ground materials to fake daylight to a degree, but that obviously isn't a viable long term solution.

IMO sunlight colour doesn't need to change, so long as we assume there's only a single sun. A lot of the location aesthetic can already be handled via ground clutter, material choices and BackGroundType. Instead of touching sunlight colour, it might be better to instead implement a basic ambient colour filter. This'd allow for more flexibility in dungeon building in general instead of being limited to above-ground locations. A slight orange haze for caves in volcanoes, a pale yellow for a sweltering dusty desert, a bluish tinge for glazier caverns, a dark green touch for dense rainforests or so on. This is not to say I've mocked up the effect on a screenshot, so no guarantees I'm not just speaking out of my ass and it'd look like shit.
Aug 29, 2016, 4:39 am
#52
Joined: Sep 8, 2010
Occupation: Petty Functionary
Location: Drinking pea soup in the world map
Interests: Mangoes
Posts: 1,163
4zb4 wrote
I'm well aware that changing this to read the appropriate sunlight colours from each individual dungeon script file is going to be a huge pain in the ass but it will need to be done sooner or later.

Grah, sorry for my deplorable misleading statements. I forgot it was hard coded. You guys are right, it'll have to be made into a feature of the script engine, to make things more complete. I added a request on github. Hopefully I get a chance to do it by the Christmas release.
Mar 18, 3:12 pm
#53
Joined: Sep 8, 2010
Occupation: Petty Functionary
Location: Drinking pea soup in the world map
Interests: Mangoes
Posts: 1,163
Right now there is some discussion going on about reducing the default size of the IVAN world map. The current size is 128x128 which is quite big, given that most of the world map is largely inaccessible. New players also often find their characters starving to death looking for a place to go.
One proposal is to reduce the default world size to 64x64. This could be made configurable, either a choice of three or four sizes (128x128, 96x96, 64x64, or 32x32), or a slider bar from 32x32 to 128x128.

Another request is to optionally choose between a pangea world and several continents (what we have now). This is because the number of new worldmap locations has increased recently.
The idea is to make a pangea the default world style so that players both old and new can easily reach every location on the world map, but that players that prefer the current style can configure this to "classic".

There is an issue on github here: https://github.com/Attnam/ivan/issues/584 and please feel free to offer your suggestions below as well.
Apr 5, 10:01 am
#54
Joined: Jul 9, 2019
Occupation: Studio Art: sculpting major, and photography minor
Location: Cliping through the floor.
Interests: Photography, sculpting, games, anthropologie, the Copper Age to Medieval history, and Ivan. (Of course.)
Posts: 39
fejoa wrote
New players also often find their characters starving to death looking for a place to go.

An easy bandaid solution, for now, would be to disable hunger gained on the world map.
Apr 6, 8:51 am
#55
capristo's avatar
The Imperialist


Joined: Dec 2, 2007
Location: New Attnam
Interests: bananas
Posts: 2,193
TheMasterGear wrote
An easy bandaid solution, for now, would be to disable hunger gained on the world map.

I proposed reducing the size of the world map on Github.

I kind of agree with this though, although I still dream of being able to descend into any square and just have a wilderness level with lots of natural enemies and food.
Apr 6, 3:41 pm
#56
Joined: Apr 2, 2014
Occupation: Navastating
Location: Aslona
Posts: 659
TheMasterGear wrote
An easy bandaid solution, for now, would be to disable hunger gained on the world map.

I don't think that will be necesarry with the smaller/better worldmap fejoa wants to work on.

capristo wrote
I still dream of being able to descend into any square and just have a wilderness level with lots of natural enemies and food.

That's my dream, too. Maybe one day I will figure out how to do that.
Apr 6, 3:57 pm
#57
Joined: Jul 9, 2019
Occupation: Studio Art: sculpting major, and photography minor
Location: Cliping through the floor.
Interests: Photography, sculpting, games, anthropologie, the Copper Age to Medieval history, and Ivan. (Of course.)
Posts: 39
red_kangaroo wrote
That's my dream, too. Maybe one day I will figure out how to do that.

What I think is the hard part is trying to get the random overworld tiles not overriding the dungeons and towns. One idea could help would to have all locations spawn before triggering events, even if that could cause sequence breaking.
Apr 16, 3:39 pm
#58
Joined: Dec 19, 2018
Occupation: Pharmacy Tech
Location: USA
Interests: ZZT, Roleplaying,
Posts: 34
TheMasterGear wrote
What I think is the hard part is trying to get the random overworld tiles not overriding the dungeons and towns. One idea could help would to have all locations spawn before triggering events, even if that could cause sequence breaking.

Couldn't you prevent that with some storyline checks that outright refuse entry to said places, or map terrain within the level that changes?

For instance if the player tries to enter Xinroch's tomb out of sequence, they get a statement like "You wander around the musty ruins for some time."
Apr 17, 1:07 am
#59
Joined: Apr 2, 2014
Occupation: Navastating
Location: Aslona
Posts: 659
TheMasterGear wrote
What I think is the hard part is trying to get the random overworld tiles not overriding the dungeons and towns. One idea could help would to have all locations spawn before triggering events, even if that could cause sequence breaking.

That's actually the easy part. All the dungeons and towns are generated during worldgen, they're just hidden until you reveal them somehow. So we can simply check if there is any dungeon on the worldmap tile before generating a wilderness location.
May 21, 1:23 pm
#60
Joined: Dec 19, 2018
Occupation: Pharmacy Tech
Location: USA
Interests: ZZT, Roleplaying,
Posts: 34
red_kangaroo wrote
That's actually the easy part. All the dungeons and towns are generated during worldgen, they're just hidden until you reveal them somehow. So we can simply check if there is any dungeon on the worldmap tile before generating a wilderness location.

Now I'm curious - could involuntary random encounters be a thing? Or does the engine only support static locations?
May 21, 1:36 pm
#61
capristo's avatar
The Imperialist


Joined: Dec 2, 2007
Location: New Attnam
Interests: bananas
Posts: 2,193
I don't think involuntary random encounters would really work well with the style of the game

red_kangaroo wrote
That's actually the easy part. All the dungeons and towns are generated during worldgen, they're just hidden until you reveal them somehow. So we can simply check if there is any dungeon on the worldmap tile before generating a wilderness location.

So what do we do if they try to descend on wilderness that they just haven't revealed yet? I guess that also depends on whether we want to save each wilderness area so that they can return to it. If so then that "wander around some musty ruins" idea would probably make most sense. If we just dispose the wilderness areas then it doesn't really matter
Jump to