Staircase Bug 0.59 OSX

Jun 30, 2023, 9:43 am
#1
Joined: Jun 30, 2023
Posts: 2
I had a weird bug in GC-2 in which the up staircase on GC-2 sends me to the down staircase on the same level. The down staircase, sends me to GC-4 (not 3). I can climb back up to GC-3 and then to GC-2 via the up staircases, but then I'm back in the loop with no way to get to GC-1. Also, all enemies are now invisible. GC-2 generated as a ghost level, which may account for the weirdness, but this is still a game ender. I've gotten deeper into the Gloomy Caves before w/o this happening.

Playing in OSX Ventura. I haven't been able to find where the saved games are stored, so any pointers there welcome.
Jul 1, 2023, 2:49 am
#2
Joined: Apr 2, 2014
Occupation: Navastating
Location: Aslona
Posts: 766
Hello and thanks for the report. By any chance, was the GC2 ghost level loaded from a different dungeon? I.e. does the map look like a GC2 level, or does it look like it doesn't belong to GC? There's currently a bug where a ghost level might be loaded from the wrong dungeon, and the stairs then could have become misaligned.

There are two ways to salvage the game. If you feel strong enough, you can push deeper, beyond Elpuri and to Oree, where there is a portal back to GC1. That however assumes that you can survive the descent. The second option is to turn on wizard mode (should be ';', I think), and then you can use command to level-teleport back to GC1. However, if you switch on wizard mode, your game will not be scored.

I think on Linux, IVAN save files were in /usr/local/shared/ivan, but I have no idea where they would be on OSX.
Jul 1, 2023, 1:29 pm
#3
Joined: Jun 30, 2023
Posts: 2
Thanks, red_kangaroo. Hard for me to say whether it looked like a GC2 ghost level or not. It had "mycelium earth" as the basic dungeon material, so maybe it was ported over from the Fungal Caves, where I died a couple of times. I've found the save game files. There's a .sav file and a .wm file for the game with the error. Should I upload them both?
Jul 6, 2023, 1:31 pm
#4
Joined: Apr 2, 2014
Occupation: Navastating
Location: Aslona
Posts: 766
Thank you, the save files won't be necessary. You have confirmed my thought about an incorrectly loaded bone file. Mycelium floor is only found in the fungal cave, so a bone file from there was loaded in GC and that messed up the stairs.

I think we already had a fix in the works, hopefully a new version will be made soon with the fix in it.
Jump to