Ivan updated

Jul 29, 2010, 2:16 pm
#1
Joined: Jul 29, 2010
Posts: 3
Hi there.

I took the latest ivan CVS, got it to compile with gcc 4.5, converted it into a Git repository, added some of the nukes' changes for 64 bits, taken from http://www.attnam.com/downloads.php?id=7

The resulting stuff is available here: http://gitorious.org/ivan

... and only then I noticed that ivan isn't half as dead as I thought, there are offshoots and variants and stuff. Perhaps I'll get around to merging them into mine.
Aug 6, 2010, 7:58 am
#2
Joined: Dec 17, 2007
Occupation: Taking Names, Formerly Kicking Ass
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 885
what does this mean for the Mainstream development of Ivan?
Aug 6, 2010, 11:07 am
#3
Joined: Jan 11, 2008
Posts: 1,019
Not sure it means anything, since it's not exactly official. Be forewarned also that there are rumors of official changes on the way (which I shall not speak much of due to not being impressed by past failure for such rumors to manifest and also a desire to avoid false hopes that it will arrive at all, much less anytime soon).
Aug 7, 2010, 1:55 am
#4
Joined: Jul 29, 2010
Posts: 3
Oh, it just means the same old good IVAN is runnable on modern systems. I have no plans nor time nor skill at game developing to develop it much further. OTOH if somebody would team up...


Footnote: actually I've had reports of my variant segfaulting when leaving New Attnam, so it's known to be buggy as well.
Aug 13, 2010, 3:57 pm
#5
Joined: Jan 21, 2008
Occupation: Musical Chair
Location: Mondedr
Posts: 5
I've got a bug report for it, though I haven't done a thorough examination of the problem to see if it actually exists.

I'm finding a whole lot of bottles of Valdemar, and no other potions. I did find a bottle of sulphuric acid, but have yet to find a health potion or antidote potion. I don't recall finding this problem with any other variant (including those based on ivan cvs).
Aug 13, 2010, 4:35 pm
#6
Joined: Dec 4, 2007
Occupation: Perfect Soldier
Location: Astragius Galaxy
Interests: Fiana, Peace, Melons
Posts: 1,054
That's a problem in the scripting, it was present in the CVS version and I think early versions of Z's 3D version.

It's fixable on the client side, the valdemar rates are ramped up out the ass and hardly anything else spawns. As I recall, it's in the items script file, just figure it out yourself or wait for someone that remembers better than I.
Aug 13, 2010, 6:27 pm
#7
Joined: Jan 21, 2008
Occupation: Musical Chair
Location: Mondedr
Posts: 5
That explains it... 0.5 had Valdemar at a frequency of 1 (so, it should spawn about 1% as often as water), where CVS had it at 10000.
Jump to