I'm going for a walk with my 64 cloak.

Jun 23, 2009, 11:24 am
#1
Joined: Jan 25, 2008
Occupation: Turns out I can't have a cool avatar, I'll just put crap in it.
Location: 48kg / 105 lbs
Interests: My name is Failbert
Posts: 697
O #'tnam of earth and altar,
Bow down and hear my cry

I was having another awesome game of IVAN, and during my workout routine, instead of advancing from like level 19 to 20 with my troll hide cloak, I happened to advance from level 19 (or 18? don'caer) to level fcuking 64.

It resulted in some more damage, for a troll hide cloak alright, but the increased amount of succesful blocks is what made this, I suppose, bug, particularly useful. Note the gap between the points required for the next level, and the few points I gained in a totally legit way.

See for Yourself
Jun 23, 2009, 2:03 pm
#2
Ernomouse's avatar
Master mine stomper


Joined: Dec 16, 2007
Occupation: Pouring molten bronze in sand
Location: In the cold end
Posts: 2,047
Right accustomization to 64? My, haven't seen that before! But that level hop is a well known bug.
Jun 23, 2009, 2:55 pm
#3
Comrade's avatar
skeleton warrior


Joined: Apr 7, 2008
Location: USSR
Posts: 258
I've never heard of this "level hop" you speak of.
Jun 23, 2009, 3:12 pm
#4
Ischaldirh's avatar
Ex-Tyrant of the IVANers


Joined: Dec 8, 2007
Occupation: Junior Specialist Researcher
Location: California
Interests: (Astro)Physics, Exoplanets, Singing praise to Valpurus while smashing skulls with a bloody warhammer, Jogging
Posts: 2,831
I've heard of this. As I recall it was put in by the devs to test something or another, and then they forgot to take it back out.
Jun 23, 2009, 3:32 pm
#5
Joined: Dec 4, 2007
Occupation: Perfect Soldier
Location: Astragius Galaxy
Interests: Fiana, Peace, Melons
Posts: 1,054
Yes indeedy, this has been known for some time now. I had it happen, myself.
Jun 23, 2009, 5:41 pm
#6
Joined: Dec 11, 2008
Posts: 1,770
"It is dangerous to go ice fishing in the summer" springs to mind.

On topic: I think i've had this happen once, with a shield or scroll or something.
Jun 23, 2009, 5:44 pm
#7
Comrade's avatar
skeleton warrior


Joined: Apr 7, 2008
Location: USSR
Posts: 258
How do you do this?
Jun 23, 2009, 6:51 pm
#8
Ischaldirh's avatar
Ex-Tyrant of the IVANers


Joined: Dec 8, 2007
Occupation: Junior Specialist Researcher
Location: California
Interests: (Astro)Physics, Exoplanets, Singing praise to Valpurus while smashing skulls with a bloody warhammer, Jogging
Posts: 2,831
The devs just didn't code in any levels between 19 and 64, so as soon as you hit level 20 you jump straight to 64 instead.
Jun 24, 2009, 10:29 am
#9
Comrade's avatar
skeleton warrior


Joined: Apr 7, 2008
Location: USSR
Posts: 258
Wow, that actually kinda sucks...
Jun 25, 2009, 12:43 am
#10
Joined: Dec 11, 2008
Posts: 1,770
However, in a game like IVAN, you should really be thankful for it.
Jun 29, 2009, 12:34 pm
#11
capristo's avatar
The Imperialist


Joined: Dec 2, 2007
Location: New Attnam
Interests: bananas
Posts: 2,142
Does tht make the enemies more powerful ? Is this just for "uncategorized" or for all categories?
Jul 3, 2009, 6:30 am
#12
Joined: Dec 2, 2007
Occupation: Big Daddy
Location: Under a pile of my own offspring
Interests: Caves
Posts: 612
every time this happens to me i get killed, i try to max out at 19.
Jump to